I’m a Winner

Last week, I received an email from a sweepstakes company saying, “We are writing to you today regarding the ‘Year of Wellness Video Contest’ offered by CRN Foundation and to say Congratulations! Your entry … has been determined to be the potential Grand Prize winner! The prize you are eligible to receive is $5,000, eight registered dietitian sessions via phone, six life coach consultations via phone, six months of weekly personal training sessions, and one year’s supply of vitamins and/or other supplements.”

Quickly disregarding the word “potential,” I realized that I needed to start a blog as soon as possible.

 Why?

 Here are my Top Five reasons:

 1)      To entertain people. I’m a youngest child. This is pretty much the reason we exist.

 2)      To make other contestants feel better. Four other finalists believed they were “this close” to being selected. Sadly, official contest rules state that “Non-winning entrants will not be notified.” So, in the spirit of good sportsmanship, I’m blogging about my win so that fellow contestants will find this blog, discover how completely awesome I am, then share this link with their friends and family to prove that they aren’t losers, but instead were unknowingly pitted against a well-honed wellness video contest machine.

 3)     To document if Life… Supplemented’s three pillars of health (healthy diet, vitamins & supplements and regular exercise) really do create a healthier lifestyle. And also to share wellness tips and advice that I learn as a result of this contest.

 4)      To get a book deal like the “Julie & Julia” chick. Just kidding. But one of these days, when I figure out where my passions and America’s interests intersect, I’m gonna be the next Ephron sister.

 5)      To keep a promise. During my finalist teleconference, I told the contest sponsor that, being a professional communicator, I could easily blog about my “Year of Wellness.” In that interview, 50 percent of my score was based on “my dedication to and enthusiasm for personal wellness, my involvement in the online community and willingness to and enthusiasm for engaging other individuals in a Year of Wellness.” I think my blog offer clinched this thing, and I definitely don’t want to go back on my word. Hell, I still feel guilty about the time I was working at AID Auto Store in my teens and kept a free air pressure gauge belonging to a customer who bought the required case of oil but didn’t want the gauge.

 So, come along with me as I embark on My Year of Wellness.

 (You know what? It doesn’t bode well that we’re both embarking on this wellness journey sitting on our butts in front of computer screens. So, in the spirit of wellness, I recommend that we all eat a salad, pop a vitamin and go for a walk!)

9 responses to “I’m a Winner

  1. You are so awesome!

  2. Good to read as I renew my healthy living focus! Go Wendy!

  3. Nicely done, Wendy. You are amazing.

  4. Wendy, you ROCK!!! Keep up the info and support, maybe you will have all of us health by the end of this year!!

  5. You inspire me Wendy. I will definitely stay tuned…

  6. WOW. You are something! I had no idea you were up to this fun…..sounds great and you will inspire us all to be FIT! Love the video…….

  7. Yes you rock Wendy! What a great idea!

  8. Excited to follow along on your journey! Can’t wait to see what you write!

  9. Pingback: Confessions of a Wellness Contest Winner « My Year of Wellness

Leave a Reply

